Frye scores first at Trail-Way 

2020-07-18 11:41:37


Jake Frye might wish the PA Sprint Series ran at Trail-Way Speedway more often. A year ago to the weekend, the Lewisberry racer, still one of PASS’ youngest, equaled his best career finish – 2nd place – when the series stopped at the Hanover oval.

Friday night, he topped that.

The fifth-place finisher in the national 2019 IMCA/RaceSaver rookie-of-the-year standings scored win #1 in the 25-lap feature in his Valley Supply/RS Mechanical Service #56. It was his 42nd PASS start.

He took the top spot when early race-leader Larry McVay and third-place Johnny Scarborough were penalized for clipping the restart cone following a lap 8 caution, putting Frye, who had moved up from sixth starting position to second, in the lead over Doug Dodson, who had moved up from fourth to second.

That’s how they stayed, as Frye handled lapped traffic with ease, while Dodson blew a brake line on lap 13, handicapping his effort. He was still able to hang on for his third straight runner-up finish.

Scarborough came home in third, with front-row starters Jaremi Hanson and McVay taking fourth and fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Billy Ney, Garrett Bard, Kristina Pratt, Eric Mathiot and Mike Melair, making his first PASS start.

Bard also took home a new right rear tire for moving up from 13th starting spot to seventh and claiming the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Hard Charger Award. Frye’s sixth-to-first performance was second-best.

Heat races for the 14 cars on hand were won by Scarborough and Frye.

For the latest schedule and other updates, check the website or the PA Sprint Series Facebook page.

Results from Trail-Way Speedway July 17

HEAT 1 – 1. 61J-Johnny Scarborough; 2. 83NJ-Larry McVay; 3. 20-Doug Dodson; 4. 69P-Landon Price; 5. 5-John Walp; 6. 19-Kruz Kepner. DNS-95-Garrett Bard.

HEAT 2 – 1. 56-Jake Frye; 2. 69-Eric Mathiot; 3. 36-Jaremi Hanson; 4. 83-Billy Ney; 5. 80-Dave Wickham; 6. 83K-Kristina Pratt; 7. 54-Mike Melair.

FEATURE – 1. 56-Jake Frye; 2. 20-Doug Dodson; 3. 61J-Johnny Scarborough; 4. 36-Jaremi Hanson; 5. 83NJ-Larry McVay; 6. 83-Billy Ney; 7. 95-Garrett Bard; 8. 83K-Kristina Pratt; 9. 69-Eric Mathiot; 10. 54-Mike Melair; 11. 80-Dave Wickham (DNF); 12. 19-Kruz Kepner (DNF); 13. 69P-Landon Price (DNF); 14. 5-John Walp (DNF). 


Share this post