Martin conquers IceBreaker Challenge at Eagle Raceway

Martin conquers IceBreaker Challenge at Eagle Raceway

Martin conquers IceBreaker Challenge at Eagle Raceway

By Greg Soukup Photo by Joe Orth

Jason Martin took advantage of his front row starting position in the Main Event to snag the lead in the 68+1 with Trey Gropp’s 54, the 8G of Jimmy Grasso and Stu Snyder in the 23 close behind. Shon Pointer made a HUGE move on lap 2, putting the 20P into second. Gropp got extremely loose on lap 3, moving Snyder and Grasso to third and fourth. Tyler Drueke passed Grasso the next time around, putting the 12 into fourth. Snyder passed Pointer the next circuit and Drueke also got past Pointer after another lap. The next time around Toby Chapman put the #7 into fourth. Chapman moved to third with 14 left. Gropp looped his sprinter in turn 2 the next time around and the yellow lights were lit. Chapman got past Snyder with 1 to go and Trevor Grossenbacher cracked the top four in his #35. Chapman and Grossenbacher made contact with 4 to go. Grossenbacher did a 360-degree spin and kept going, but he brought out a caution. From there to the finish it was all Martin who took the victory with Chapman, Snyder and Drueke rounding out the top 4.

This was a different ride for Martin. “Yes, actually it’s a brand-new car for Blaine too; he just put it together a couple of weeks ago. I helped him put it together. He gave me the opportunity to drive the car because I don’t have a ride at the moment. I just happened to win it, so it’s a good thing for him; and me! I got a good lucky draw and started outside the front row. I liked the track tonight because it was dry. Typically, it gets too much moisture on the bottom, or on the top; but Roger did a good job with the track tonight, but he always does”. The car’s sponsors include Crop Production Services, McClintock Farms and Peterson Automotive.


IceBreaker Sprint A-Feature

  1. Jason Martin Lincoln, Ne. 2. Toby Chapman Panama, Ne. 3. Stuart Snyder Lincoln, Ne. 4. Tyler Drueke Eagle, Ne. 5. Shon Pointer Grand Island, Ne. 6. Cody Ledger Omaha, Ne. 7. Adam Gullion Lincoln, Ne. 8. Jimmy Grasso Omaha, Ne. 9. Jason Danley Lincoln, Ne. 10. Gene Ackland Martell, Ne. 11. Matt Richards Lincoln, Ne. 12. Shayle Bade Lincoln, Ne. 13. Ryan King Bennet, Ne. 14. Nathan Weiler Lavista, Ne. 15. Clint Benson Papillion, Ne. 16. Zach Blurton Quinter, Ks. 17. Trey Gropp(r) Lincoln, Ne. 18. Austin McLean Loveland, Co. 19. Trevor Grossenbacher Hickman, Ne. 20. Josh Riggins(r) Lincoln, Ne.

IceBreaker Sprint B-Feature

  1. Clint Benson Papillion, Ne. 2. Zach Blurton Quinter, Ks. 3. Nathan Weiler Lavista, Ne. 4. Austin McLean Loveland, Co. 5. Doug Lovegrove Waverly, Ne. 6. Chase Weiler Lincoln, Ne. 7. Ryan Kitchen(r) Lincoln, Ne. 8. Paul Hendrickson Lincoln, Ne. 9. Neil Nickolite Bellwood, Ne. 10. Keith Dragoo Greenwood, Ne. 11. Nate Johnson Hastings, Ne. 12. Jason Miller Omaha, Ne. 13. Jeff Pendergast Norfolk, Ne. 14. Kaleb Johnson Sioux Falls, Sd. DNS. Joey Danley Lincoln, Ne.

IceBreaker Sprint Heat 1

  1. Shayle Bade Lincoln, Ne. 2. Ryan King Bennet, Ne. 3. Josh Riggins(r) Lincoln, Ne. 4. Cody Ledger Omaha, Ne. 5. Clint Benson Papillion, Ne. 6. Doug Lovegrove Waverly, Ne. 7. Chase Weiler Lincoln, Ne. 8. Keith Dragoo Greenwood, Ne.

IceBreaker Sprint Heat 2

  1. Jason Martin Lincoln, Ne. 2. Matt Richards Lincoln, Ne. 3. Adam Gullion Lincoln, Ne. 4. Trevor Grossenbacher Hickman, Ne. 5. Nathan Weiler Lavista, Ne. 6. Kaleb Johnson Sioux Falls, Sd. 7. Neil Nickolite Bellwood, Ne. 8. Joey Danley Lincoln, Ne.

IceBreaker Sprint Heat 3

  1. Jimmy Grasso Omaha, Ne. 2. Toby Chapman Panama, Ne. 3. Trey Gropp(r) Lincoln, Ne. 4. Gene Ackland Martell, Ne. 5. Paul Hendrickson Lincoln, Ne. 6. Jason Miller Omaha, Ne. 7. Jeff Pendergast Norfolk, Ne.

IceBreaker Sprint Heat 4

  1. Stuart Snyder Lincoln, Ne. 2. Tyler Drueke Eagle, Ne. 3. Shon Pointer Grand Island, Ne. 4. Jason Danley Lincoln, Ne. 5. Zach Blurton Quinter, Ks. 6. Austin McLean Loveland, Co. 7. Ryan Kitchen(r) Lincoln, Ne.

Share this post